A reproduction of a painting by Antonio
Jacobsen dated 1892. Named after the lighthouse on Martha’s Vineyard, this was owned by the Nantucket
Steamboat Line. In the Gay Head, the paddles were housed in the superstructure and were not visible on
the sides of the Gay Head.
Largest of the famous old sidewheelers, the steamer Gay Head was built in 1891 - 203 feet long, with a 34-foot
beam. Her social hall, ladies' saloon and toilet rooms were "all fitted in the Neapolitan style, with gold trimmings."
The woodwork was of cherry, and the side seats in the cabins were covered with maroon plush upholstering. The social hall
deck was laid with black walnut and maple - its size, too, was imposing, for its length was 50 feet. Above the main deck were
the forward promenade and upper saloon, reached fore and aft by "richly carved staircases." Five state rooms on
each side were furnished with willow furniture. The Gay Head could boast a hurricane deck extending from
the stern to the pilot house; this was something earlier steamers had lacked.
was one of several steamers that connected Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket with the Massachusetts mainland. Print size is 17" x 25" with a 13 ¾
x 22 ¾”image. On
the lower right corner is printed “1896 Old Dartmouth Historical Society, New Bedford Whaling Museum, Published by JAMES
G. BENNETT, INC., Madison, CT.”